• As of 1999 the state of Israel, in various government decisions, decided to recognize 11 Bedouin villages in the Negev. Until 2013 these villages were part of the Abu Basma Regional Council and following the split of Abu Basma Regional Council in 2013 these villages were split to two regional councils – Neve Midbar and Al-Kasum.

      In spite of the state’s decision to grant recognition to the villages, in reality there is no significant difference between these villages and the villages which remained unrecognized.  In most of the recognized villages there is no planning so their residents cannot get building permits, the policy of house demolition continues and infrastructure of water and electricity are still not available to the residents.